Marketing Department Colloquia: 2013-2014

 

Location: JMHH 741 Conference Room
Time: 3:00-4:20 PM (unless otherwise noted)

For Colloquia Scheduling Information and suggestions for additional speakers:
Faculty Coordinator: Pinar Yildirim

For appointments with speakers:
Staff Coordinator: Beth McCarthy

 

Spring 2014

Date Speaker Abstract/Paper
Thursday, January 16, 2014 Susan Athey
Professor of Economics
School of Humanities and Sciences, Stanford
Designing Large Advertising Markets Where Agents Have Heterogeneous Objectives: A Structural Empirical Approach

Thursday, January 23, 2014 Chrysanthos Dellarocas
Professor, Chairman, Information Systems
School of Management, Boston University
Attention Allocation in Information-Rich Environments: The Case of News Aggregators

Thursday, January 30, 2014 None Scheduled
Thursday, February 6, 2014 Joseph Alba
James W. Walter Eminent Scholar Chair, Distinguished Professor, Chair, Department of Marketing
University of Florida, Warrington College of Business Administration
A Marketing Perspective on Free Will

Thursday, February 13, 2014 None Scheduled
Thursday, February 20, 2014 None Scheduled
Thursday, February 27, 2014 None Scheduled
Thursday, March 6, 2014 Harikesh Nair
Associate Professor of Marketing
Stanford University
Big Data and Marketing Analytics in Gaming: Combining Empirical Models and Field Experimentation

Thursday, March 13, 2014 None Scheduled
Thursday, March 20, 2014 Juliano Laran
Associate Professor, Marketing
University of Miami
Managing Goal Pursuit

Thursday, March 27, 2014 None Scheduled
Thursday, April 3, 2014 Mitchell J Lovett
Assistant Professor of Marketing
Simon Business School, University of Rochester
The Role of Paid and Earned Media in Building Entertainment Brands: Reminding, Informing, and Enhancing Enjoyment

Thursday, April 10, 2014 None Scheduled None Scheduled
Thursday, April 17, 2014

Location: G30 JMHH

Wroe Alderson Distinguished Lecture

Leonard Lodish
Samuel R. Harrell Emeritus Professor Leader and Co-founder, Global Consulting Practicum Emeritus Professor of Marketing
The Wharton School, The University of Pennsylvania

Some Learnings (Lessons) That I Have Found Valuable After 45 Years In Marketing Science

Thursday, April 24, 2014 Aradhna Krishna
Dwight F. Benton Professor of Marketing
Ross School of Business, University of Michigan
Embodied Mental Simulation and Other Automatic Imagery

FALL 2013

Date Speaker Abstract/Paper
Thursday, August 29, 2013 Jonathan Berman
Doctoral Candidate, Marketing Department
The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania
Self‐interest without Selfishness: The Hedonic Benefit of Imposed Selfinterest

Wednesday, September 04, 2013, 12:00 – 1:20 Cindy Chan
Doctoral Candidate, Marketing Department
The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania
Experiential Gifts Are More Socially Connecting than Material Gifts

Thursday, September 12, 2013 Jae Lee
Doctoral Candidate, Marketing Department
The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania
Social Learning and Network Characteristics – The Impact of Homophily and Balance

Tuesday, September 24, 2013 Daria Dzyabura
Assistant Professor of Marketing
NYU, Stern
The Role of Changing Utility in Product Search

Thursday, September 26, 2013 So-Eun Park
University of California at Berkeley
Consumer Surplus Moderated Price Competition

Tuesday, October 08, 2013 Bryan Bollinger
Assistant Professor of Marketing
NYU, Stern
Learning-by-doing in the Solar Photovoltaic Industry

Thursday, October 10, 2013 Clarence Lee
Harvard Business School
Designing Freemium: a Model of Consumer Usage, Upgrade, and Referral Dynamics

Thursday, October 17, 2013 Donald Ngwe
Columbia University
Why Outlet Stores Exist: Reducing Cannibalization While Extending Markets
Thursday, October 24, 2013 Ron Berman
University of California, Berkeley
Beyond the Last Touch: Attribution in Online Advertising

Thursday, October 31, 2013 Avery Haviv
Rotman School of Management, University of Toronto
Does Purchase Without Search Explain Counter Cyclic Pricing?

Thursday, November 07, 2013 Adrian Albert
Stanford University
Data-Driven Marketing for Sustainability on the Energy Grid

Thursday, November 14, 2013 Szu-Chi Huang
Assistant Professor of Marketing
Stanford University
What Drives You? A Dynamic Analysis of Motivation in Different Stages of Goal Pursuit

Thursday, November 21, 2013 None Scheduled
Thursday, December 05, 2013 Maferima Toure-Tillery 
Assistant Professor of Marketing
Northwestern University
It Wasn’t Me: The Effect of Perceived Self-Diagnosticity on Adherence to Goals and Standards

Thursday, December 12, 2013 Jiwoong Shin
Associate Professor of Marketing
Yale School of Management
Managing Buzz